If you have a driver’s license, you have a driving privilege, not an irrevocable right. Therefore, you are only able to continue driving as long as you do not pose a risk to others on the road. It’s possible for people to have their driver’s license revoked even if they do not commit a criminal offense. For example, an elderly person may no longer have the competencies to drive safely.
There are certain criminal offenses that lead to the permanent or temporary revocation of a driver’s license, the most common one being a DUI. If you have been accused of driving over the legal limit of alcohol in your blood, you will face DUI charges. If you are worried about how this will affect your day-to-day life, you should make sure that you understand the different aspects of the law.
The consequences of a 1st offense DUI in South Dakota
If you are found guilty of a DUI in South Dakota for the first time, you could still face one year in jail and fines of up to $2,000. You will also have your license revoked for a period of time between 30 days and one year.
Will I be prohibited from driving to work?
Unsurprisingly, having your license revoked can pose huge challenges, and can prevent you from earning an income due to your not being able to drive to work. In some cases, the court may choose to grant a restricted license during the time in which your driver’s license is revoked, but they do not have to do this. This is done to prevent undue hardship, such as the loss of a job, as a result of a DUI. A restricted license enables a person to legally drive for certain restricted purposes, such as to attend work.
If you are facing DUI charges in South Dakota and you are worried about your future, take action to defend your rights.